The National Central Bureau of INTERPOL in Tajikistan

Interpol is the world’s largest international police organization with 190 member countries. It facilitates international police cooperation, provides support and assistance to all organizations, authorities and services, the objective of which is to combat crime.

History of INTERPOL

The idea of establishing an International Criminal Police Organization (ICPO-Interpol) was rooted in the beginning of the last century. The First International Criminal Police Congress was held in Monaco in 1914. Lawyers and police officers from 14 countries have considered the issue on the possibility to create a unit for accounting of international criminal information and unification of criminals’ extradition proceedings.

The World War I has interrupted the started process of international consolidation of police forces. In 1923, the Second International Criminal Police Congress was held in Vienna, Austria, where the International Criminal Police Commission (ICPC) was founded. It has functioned until the beginning of the World War II. Hence, 1923 is considered to be a year of the ICPO-Interpol establishment, although before 1956 it was officially called as the International Criminal Police Commission.

In 1956, the Interpol has received its current name and existing Charter. In 1989, the Interpol headquarters (General Secretariat) has moved from Paris suburbs to Lyon, where it is still located.

In 1996, the UN General Assembly had approved the Interpol intergovernmental status as an observer at the General Assembly. In 1997, Interpol and the UN signed a Cooperation Agreement, which proves the high authority of Interpol.

Since 2000, the Secretary General of the Interpol is Ronald K. Noble, professor of law of the New York University.

Currently, the Interpol is a large international organization, the second after the UN on the size of staff and the largest organization of law enforcement agencies, which has 190 member countries. Each country determines an agency, which will be acting as a National Central Bureau (NCB) to ensure the collaboration with different organizations of the country, NCB member countries and with the General Secretariat of the Organization in the area of combating international crime.

The Soviet Union has become a member of the Interpol in 1990.

On 7 April 1990, the Council of the USSR Ministers had adopted a Resolution №338 “On joining the USSR the International Criminal Police Organization – Interpol.” On 27 September 1990, at the 59th session of the Interpol General Assembly (in Ottawa, Canada), the USSR was accepted as a member of the Interpol. The National Central Bureau of Interpol (NCB Interpol) has started its activity within the structure of the Ministry of Internal Affairs (MIA) of the USSR starting from 1 January 1991.


Image of the International Police Staff

The National Central Bureau of Interpol (NCB) of Tajikistan is established according to the authorities of the Ministry of Internal Affairs (MIA) of the Republic of Tajikistan for its membership in the International Criminal Police Organization (ICPO). On 5 October 2004 Tajikistan was accepted to Interpol and became 182nd member country of this Organization.